Jhankar Beats: A Broad Look at Music in India

As a music student in the Regional Arts Program at my high school, the major project of my grade 12 second semester was to choose a music related career and present in some format (presentation, performance, product, etc). With my love for writing, “editor/writer of a music magazine” seemed to be the obvious choice.

The theme of my magazine, entitled Jhankar Beats, was Indian Classical Music and the way it has evolved, with a special look at the role it plays in pop music now. What began as a simple final project turned into something much bigger, inspiring me to look further at the way music in general works in India, and how it has grown into what it is today. It’s a topic I’ve gone back to over the years for different classes and projects, and one that I continue to pursue as a side interest. This is still a work in progress as I edit these out and add in the new information I’ve learned, but give it a look through and let me know what you think! I targeted them to an audience unfamiliar with Indian music, so you shouldn’t have too much difficulty with terms or concepts.

Leave a Reply

